Ok, I failed…

Alright, so there has been a lack of updates on this blog. Unfortunately I had to end my Hunter’s Challenge quest and I took a couple of days off the bike. There’s a few reasons for this;

  1. Fitness Level. I don’t think my level of fitness was high enough to take this on successfully. After the rides I felt burnt out and I couldn’t fully recover fast enough for the next day’s ride. This resulted in a more than 1 day off per week.
  2. Set Up. I definitely couldn’t hit the proper power for some of these challenges. I have a “dumb” trainer and unfortunately it was hard to overcome this obstacle. I would fail workouts/segments because I couldn’t hit the power fast enough or even hit it at all.
  3. Lack of Direction. Each workout has a quick description of what it was about, but I found that most of the time there wasn’t anything in the actual workout. Tractor Pulls is an example, not once was I told when I should go into the drops.
  4. Enjoyment. No one truly enjoys interval work but I think everything above made me feel terrible and not motivated to continue.

With all that said, I would still suggest anyone to take on this 28 day challenge. These are just my opinions and I’m relatively new to bike training so my experience will not the same as another experience. I also might embark on this challenge again when I feel fit on the bike.

Leave a Reply

